Wheat Wine Partigyle Recipe

In November, my wife and I are expecting our first child, so right now I am looking to make beers that both can and will need to be aged a little. The wife is more than willing (for now..) to let me brew as often as usual after the little guy comes along, but I doubt she and I will be as excited about brewing once he is born. To me, that’s a good excuse to make us a stockpile.

In addition to that, my brewing birthday is August 18th whoooo. I will unofficially have been homebrewing for a full year and to start off my 2nd year I thought an odd, and at the same time interesting, brewing recipe involving a Wheat Wine sounded like fun. Being as frugal as I am though, I decided to partigyle it into three beers. I might even be able to age some the full 21 years and have something (special?) for his birthday.

The plan is to make 3 gallons of Wheat Wine from the first runnings, 5 gallons of Dunkelweizen with the second runnings and if I can get any sugars at all from the third runnings, I am hoping to do a Berliner Weisse experiment. My first attempt at a sour is probably the most exciting just because I’ll either fail big and end up with some gross puke beer or (hopefully) make something awesome.

Wheat Wine

3 Gallon Recipe
Est. OG = 1.???
IBU = ???
mash 1 = 150 F. , mash 2 = 150 F. , sparge = 168 F.

Grain Bill

*German Wheat = 10 lbs.
2-Row Barley = 9 lbs.
Victory = 1lb.
Special B  = 8 oz.

*this is what’s making it a wheat wine instead of a barleywine*

Wheat Wine
OG= FG =

Amarillo = 1 oz. @ 60
Willamette = 1 oz. @ 1
Whitbred Golding Variety =  1 oz. @1

Yeast
S-04 @ 68 F.

RO Water +
Gypsum =
Calcium Chloride =

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Dunkelweizen
5 Gallon Recipe
OG= FG =

WGV = 1 oz. @ 60

Yeast
Scuttlebutt 10 Below bottle yeast @ 66 F.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Berliner Weisse
1 Gallon Recipe
OG= FG =

Amarillo = 1 pellet @ 15

Yeast
Lactobacillus @ 100+ F. for 3-5 days, then S-04 @ 68 F. until FG is reached.
*The Lactobacillus will come from a handful of unmashed grain.*

Leave a Reply

